Last checked November 1, 2026
Flowcode alternatives for small teams watching cost
Flowcode searches lean heavily toward money: "flowcode pricing", "flowcode cost", "flowcode free plan", plus comparisons with Bitly, Uniqode and Linktree. This page lays out what Flowcode's plans include, what to check before you commit to any QR tool, and how five alternatives compare on cost and on what happens to printed codes. We make QRay, one of them.
Facts checked on November 1, 2026. Prices and terms change, so follow the numbered sources before you buy.
The problem: two free codes, then a yearly bill
Say a two-person coffee roaster wants QR codes on its bags: one for brewing guides, one for reordering, and a few more for seasonal blends. Flowcode's free plan covers up to 2 Flowcodes, with analytics for up to 500 scans, and it's ad free [1].
The third code means a paid plan. Pro Plus is $25 a month billed annually, with up to 50 codes and 3 seats [1]. That's $300 up front for a business that may only need five or six codes. The next tier, Growth, is $250 and annual only [1], and Flowcode's enterprise product is aimed at large brands.
Flowcode is built for brands that want landing pages, data capture and team tools around their codes [1]. For a small team the question is simpler: how many codes do I need, how will I be billed, and what happens to codes already printed on bags if I stop paying? Flowcode's pricing page doesn't answer the last one [1], so ask before printing.
It's also worth looking past the headline price. A yearly plan at a monthly rate is a reasonable deal if you know you'll use it all year. It's less good if you're testing whether QR codes on bags bring any reorders at all. In that case, a free plan or a month-to-month option lets you learn first and commit later. Whatever you pick, write down the rule for printed codes next to the invoice, so whoever renews the plan next year knows what's at stake.
Three things to check before you choose
1. How you'll be billed
Check whether the plan you need is offered month to month, or only yearly. Yearly billing is cheaper per month but harder to stop if your needs change. Also check what happens at renewal time, and how much notice you need to give.
2. The number of codes you really need
Count codes, not features. A plan with landing pages and integrations is wasted if you need six codes that point to web pages you already have. Seats matter too: Pro Plus includes 3 collaboration seats [1], which may be all a small team needs.
3. What happens to printed codes when you stop paying
Look for a plain statement. If there isn't one, write "not stated" in your notes and ask support before you print packaging. A short note in your records saves the next person a guess.
Comparison table
| Flowcode | QRay | Hovercode | QR TIGER | Uniqode | Bitly | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Edit destination after printing | Yes [1] | Yes | Yes [2] | Yes [3] | Yes, on paid plans from $9/mo [4] | Paid plans only: 5 edits/mo on Core, more on higher tiers [5] |
| Free option | Up to 2 Flowcodes, analytics for up to 500 scans, ad free [1] | Free to try, no card | Free plan: 3 dynamic codes in total [2] | Free plan: 3 dynamic codes [3] | Free plan for basic codes; free trial for premium [4] | Free with ads: 2 QR codes/mo [5] |
| When a trial or plan ends | Not stated | Codes made with a free account have no trial end date | Free-plan codes don't expire; extra paid codes expire if you cancel [2] | Free dynamic codes have a 500-scan cap each and a logo popup [3] | After the free trial, dynamic codes become inactive unless you upgrade (per its sister site's FAQ) [6] | Paid plans can schedule a code to expire on a date [5] |
| Paid plans from | $25/mo billed annually (Pro Plus) [1] | Free to start | $12/mo [2] | US$7/mo [3] | $9/mo [4] | $10/mo billed yearly (Core) [5] |
| Scan counts | Yes, capped by plan [1] | Yes, per code | Basic analytics, 3 months of history on free [2] | Basic analytics on free [3] | Yes [4] | Yes [5] |
| Use from AI tools | Not stated | Claude and Cursor (MCP), command line; ChatGPT planned next | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Pros and cons of each
Flowcode
Pros
- Codes and landing pages in one place [1]
- The free plan is ad free [1]
- Pro Plus includes up to 50 Flowcodes and landing pages and 3 collaboration seats [1]
- A free plan with no ads in front of your page [1]
Cons
- Pro Plus is $25/month billed annually, and Growth ($250) is annual only [1]
- Free-plan analytics cover up to 500 scans; Pro Plus covers up to 6,000 [1]
- The pricing page doesn't say what happens to codes if a paid plan ends [1]
- Its top product is built for large brands, so much of the feature list may not apply to a small business [1]
QRay
We make QRay, so read this section with that in mind.
Pros
- You can change where a printed code goes, and the pattern stays the same
- Free to try without a card, and codes made with a free account have no trial end date
- Scan counts per code
- You can create and edit codes from Claude or Cursor through MCP, or from the command line
Cons
- A young product with fewer features than the large tools: fewer code types, no landing-page builder and no bulk CSV upload
- Fewer design options than design-first tools
- Team accounts and custom domains aren't available
- ChatGPT support is planned next, not available yet
Hovercode
Pros
- A free plan that isn't a trial: the first 3 dynamic codes don't expire [2]
- Custom domains, GPS tracking and team features on paid plans [2]
- GS1 Digital Link codes [2]
- The free plan's rules are written plainly on the pricing page, which makes planning easy [2]
Cons
- The 3 free dynamic codes are a total, not per month [2]
- Codes beyond the first 3 expire if you cancel a paid plan [2]
- Custom domains and GPS tracking are paid features [2]
QR TIGER
Pros
- Free plan with dynamic codes and basic analytics, plus unlimited static codes [3]
- Paid plans from US$7/month, with bulk generation and geofencing on higher tiers [3]
- A wide range of code types, from links to files and social pages [3]
- Free static codes are unlimited, which covers permanent links at no cost [3]
Cons
- Free dynamic codes are capped at 500 scans each [3]
- Free codes show a QR TIGER logo popup [3]
- Packaging or a busy flyer can reach the free scan cap, so plan to upgrade if a code gets popular
Uniqode
Pros
- Security and compliance listed on the pricing page, including SOC 2, SSO and 2FA [4]
- Digital business cards in the same product [4]
- Room to grow, with a Core plan at $49/month [4]
- Integrations and team tools suit companies with IT and security reviews [4]
Cons
- Dynamic codes need a paid plan, from $9/month [4]
- Trial dynamic codes stop redirecting when the trial ends unless you upgrade [6]
- Feature-rich plans can be more than a small shop needs
Bitly
Pros
- Short links, QR codes and landing pages in one account [5]
- Bulk creation from CSV or Excel on higher plans [5]
- Mobile deep links and custom dashboards on higher plans [5]
- Paid plans can schedule a code to expire on a date, handy for time-limited campaigns [5]
Cons
- The free plan has ads and doesn't include changing a code's destination [5]
- Destination changes are counted per month on paid plans [5]
- Core is $10/month with an annual charge of $120 [5]
- Growth is $29/month billed yearly, a step up if you need more edits [5]
Which one fits your situation
A brand that wants landing pages and data capture. Flowcode is built for that [1], and Uniqode covers similar ground with security features listed for procurement [4].
A small business that needs a handful of codes. Compare monthly cost for 3 to 10 codes. QR TIGER starts at US$7/month [3], Hovercode at $12/month [2], and QRay is free to start.
A team that already uses short links. Bitly puts short links and QR codes in one account, from $10/month billed yearly [5].
Packaging that stays on shelves for years. Choose a tool whose end-of-plan rules are written down. Hovercode states its free codes don't expire [2].
A pop-up or market stall testing QR codes. Start on a free plan to learn whether people scan at all. Flowcode's free plan covers 2 codes [1]; QRCodeChimp's covers 10 [7].
Someone who works in Claude or Cursor. QRay lets you create and edit codes from the chat or editor through MCP, or from the command line.
FAQ
How much does Flowcode cost?
Free covers up to 2 Flowcodes. Pro Plus is $25/month billed annually, and Growth is $250, annual only [1].
Does Flowcode have a free plan?
Yes: up to 2 Flowcodes, analytics for up to 500 scans, ad free [1].
Does Flowcode have a free trial?
The pricing page lists a free plan and paid plans [1]; check the sign-up page for any trial on paid tiers.
Do Flowcodes expire?
The pricing page doesn't say what happens to codes when a paid plan ends [1]. Ask Flowcode before you print packaging.
Flowcode vs Bitly?
Flowcode centres on codes and landing pages [1]. Bitly centres on short links, with QR codes as part of the account [5].
Flowcode vs Uniqode?
Both target brands and teams. Uniqode lists SOC 2, SSO and 2FA on its pricing page, with dynamic plans from $9/month [4].
Can I move my Flowcodes to another tool?
No. The short link inside a printed code belongs to Flowcode. Make new codes elsewhere and use them on your next print run.
Is Flowcode worth it for a small business?
It depends on whether you'll use landing pages and team features [1]. If you only need a few editable codes, compare free allowances first.
Is Flowcode billed monthly?
The pricing page has a monthly toggle, but Pro Plus is shown billed annually and Growth is annual only [1].
What are Flowcode's main competitors?
Common comparisons are Bitly, Uniqode and QR TIGER; Flowcode's own searches also pair it with Linktree.